Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

July 1, 2025

Ambassador Jamieson Greer U.S. Trade Representative Office of the U.S. Trade Representative 600 17th St., NW Washington, DC 20508

The Honorable Howard Lutnick Secretary of Commerce U.S. Department of Commerce 1401 Constitution Ave., N.W. Washington, DC 20230 The Honorable Scott Bessent Secretary of the Treasury U.S. Department of Treasury 1500 Pennsylvania Ave, NW Washington, DC 20220

Ambassador Greer, Secretary Bessent, and Secretary Lutnick:

We write to express our support for the Trump administration's ongoing trade negotiations. As you know, Korea is a critically important geopolitical ally, a key player in our Indo-Pacific economic strategy, and among our most significant trading partners, in part thanks to the U.S.-Korea Free Trade Agreement. As broader negotiations with Korea continue, we urge the administration to address remaining barriers Korea imposes on U.S. companies. Doing so could further level the playing field for American exporters, strengthen supply chains, and support continued bilateral investments, to the benefit of American industry, consumers, and workers.

One barrier that we urge you to address in any negotiations is proposed legislation advanced by the Korea Fair Trade Commission (KFTC) and embraced by the new Lee Jae-myung government which disproportionately targets U.S. digital companies for heightened regulatory requirements. The legislation mirrors the European Union's blatantly discriminatory Digital Markets Act and would impose disparate legal and enforcement standards designed to undermine innovative business models and disadvantage successful American companies. The adverse treatment includes mandating the disclosure of proprietary algorithms, restricting offers of discounted pricing for additional services in a digital ecosystem, and granting the KFTC cease-and-desist powers that would enable the Korean government to halt a company's operations at the very start of an investigation—without any required showing of anticompetitive conduct.

This legislation would also advance the interests of the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) by disproportionately targeting American companies while exempting major Chinese digital giants like ByteDance, Alibaba and Temu. Allowing these companies to operate free from the regulatory burdens imposed on their U.S. competitors would substantially increase threats related to data security, disinformation, economic coercion, and espionage stemming from the CCP's influence over such Chinese tech giants.

Additionally, Korea has long used competition law to advance protectionist aims and promote discriminatory policy outcomes. In recent years, the KFTC has been the primary mechanism to accomplish these ends. In some cases, this has led to targeting U.S. companies with dawn office raids,

hyper-aggressive enforcement measures, and threats of criminal prosecution for common industry practices that are not considered criminal in any other country. Such excessive and arbitrary competition law enforcement not only leads to unjustified investigations and unwarranted penalties but also greatly constrains U.S. business operations in the Korean market.

As Members of Congress focused on ensuring America leads the world in fair trade, we are encouraged that the administration is focused on eliminating foreign discrimination against U.S. workers and businesses in ongoing negotiations. We look forward to working with you to address Korea's targeted online platform legislation and the KFTC's regulatory overreach.

Sincerely,

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

3eth Van Duyne

Member of Congress

Claudia Tenney

Member of Congress

landà Gennes

Gus M. Bilirakis

Member of Congress

Jodey C. Arrington

Member of Congress

Randy Feenstra

Member of Congress

Aaron Bean

Member of Congress

Ron Estes

Member of Congress

Rudy Yakym III Member of Congress

Byron Donalds Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse Member of Congress

María Elvira Salazar Member of Congress

C. Scott Franklin Member of Congress

Mike Carey
Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress Brian K. Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Vince Fong V

Member of Congress

Rich McCormick, MD, MBA Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

Scott Fitzgerald
Member of Congress

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Robert J. Wittman
Member of Congress

Noutraniel Moran

Nathaniel Moran Member of Congress

Rob Bresnahan, Jr. Member of Congress

Lloyd Smucker Member of Congress

Kevin Hern Member of Congress

Ashley Hinson Member of Congress

Charles J. "Chuck" Fleischmann Member of Congress

Riley M Moore Member of Congress Max L. Miller Member of Congress

Michael Baumgartner Member of Congress

Bill Huizenga
Member of Congress

Dan Meuser Member of Congress

Brad Finstad Member of Congress

John J. McGuire III Member of Congress

Ben Cline Member of Congress Mark B. Messmer
Member of Congress

David Kustoff
Member of Congress

David Kustoff

John R. Moolenaar Member of Congress W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Young Kim

Member of Congress